View Full Version : Real or Fake
CaliCJ
10-26-2006, 03:47 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/04-1-OF-1-GOLDEN-EAGLE-RUBICON_W0QQitemZ260044941066QQihZ016QQcategoryZ62 85QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
BigMudder
10-26-2006, 04:13 PM
I would have to say that is about as fake as fake can get
wally
10-26-2006, 05:18 PM
I would also agree to fake. I think it is strange it is so special but it did not come with A/C.
Jeepin Dave
10-26-2006, 05:38 PM
If I remember right, Jeep was offering a Golden Eagle package on the TJ's there a while back. But I thought it was black and different rims. I dont think it was a Rubicon either. But I do remember them offering it.
Originally posted by lee1969:
I would also agree to fake. I think it is strange it is so special but it did not come with A/C. Agreed. When they make "one of a kind' vehicles they deck them out with every option available. Particularly if it was taken to all of the auto shows.
OhioYJ
10-26-2006, 05:55 PM
Fake.... And where can I get these Goodyear puncture proof tires?
TrailPirate
10-26-2006, 06:34 PM
"It has a Platinum 7 year, 170,000 mile bumper to bumper warranty" Also am i mistaken but dont all rubicons come with A/C?
The last camp jeep i went to they had one and looked just like this
http://www.jpmagazine.com/eventcoverage/129_0601_20z+Jeep_Wrangler+Front_Driver_Side_View. jpg
luckeeluke
10-26-2006, 07:39 PM
graemlins/ditto.gif
black and gold . . . non-Rubicon version. . . only one I have ever seen
rockyjeep
10-26-2006, 08:42 PM
i dont know much about the packages on Jeeps, but i thought all the special packages like Golden Eagle, Sahara, Bigfoot, etc etc were based off of the "X" model. i know my Rocky Mountain is based off of the X. I always figured a Rubicon was just a Rubicon. but i'm not sure, i could be wrong. :confused: correct me if i am, so i can learn somthing today. knowledge is power! tongue.gif
Tonka
10-27-2006, 02:48 AM
Originally posted by TrailPirate:
The last camp jeep i went to they had one and looked just like this
http://www.jpmagazine.com/eventcoverage/129_0601_20z+Jeep_Wrangler+Front_Driver_Side_View. jpg Double graemlins/ditto.gif .
VTechTJ
10-27-2006, 07:12 AM
Originally posted by OhioYJ:
Fake.... And where can I get these Goodyear puncture proof tires? Haha the tires were the first thing I was thinking about too......
Jeepin Dave
10-27-2006, 08:46 AM
Yup, thats the Golden Eagle package I was remembering. A non-Rubi...
Something doesnt seem right with it, thats for sure. It doesnt look like it sits like a Rubi either, more like a Sport with different rims/tires. But the pics dont show the underside/ axles, or the interior so you could look for the D44s, air lines, and switches...
But ya never know what Chysler could have done. They can change the rules anytime they want, heck they invented them anyway!! I have read articles where they used to just stand at the back of the assembly lines and point at cars and specify "Hemi" - "4 Spd" - "6Pack" We all know they cant do that in todays market, but still...
I agree, fake, but could be it was built by a dealer or a group of dealers. Its not hard to figure out, contact Chrysler and they will tell ya. They wont want their name or warrenty being advertised like that. Problem is though, this thing is on eBay and there is not really enough time to react like that, which is porbably the sellers intention anyway.
On the other hand, if you look at it that you might get a nice Rubicon at a nice price that is somewhat decent looking and low miles... than it doesnt matter really... as long as it is a Rubi and its not over priced for a basic 04 Rubi.
I still agree though, I dont think its real...
CjRobPos85
10-27-2006, 08:59 AM
Ive seen the golden eagle in white and black around my town but never with those fugly rims like the one in the ebay pic i think its a major fake........
tj-mitch
10-27-2006, 11:37 AM
I also dont think that jeep would paint over their own logo...
Tonka
10-27-2006, 11:50 AM
Originally posted by Jeepin_Dave:
Something doesnt seem right with it, thats for sure. It doesnt look like it sits like a Rubi either, more like a Sport with different rims/tires. Also, Rubicons have full doors. The pic in the ad shows a Jeep with half doors. I have seen some Saharas (on the road) with half doors, but not a Rubicon.
Captoman
10-27-2006, 02:13 PM
graemlins/ditto.gif That $1000 "Cash, MO, or cashiers check" BS should be a GIANT red flag too. I say report them to EBAY fruad/
Tonka
10-27-2006, 03:21 PM
dipstick2 is not the best screen name to sell something. :rolleyes:
olivesta500
10-27-2006, 03:43 PM
quoted from the listing, "in 2WD it runs on 3:55, and in 4WD it is 4:56"
its amazing what people try to sell on ebay ive never seen a jeep like that, i thought all rubicons had 4.10 gears?
Jeepin Dave
10-27-2006, 03:48 PM
Yeah, I dont think this guy knows what hes got there... Some guy probably stuck those stickers on there and told him it was one of kind...
I think the Rubi's do have 4.10's and the low range is 4:1... so where he got the 3.55 in 2wd and 4.56 in 4wd is beyond me...
Why J D
10-27-2006, 04:29 PM
Those look like spray painted cheapo- AR 84 series wheels...does anyone have a Carfax unlimited account to check the credibility? If there is ANY truth to that post, the first owner should be listed as Daimler-Chrysler something (whatever they call their show custom division). I saw the history reports on a Skyline that a friend owned and it showed the first owner as Nismo motorsport (nissan's Hi-perf/show division)
Why J D
10-27-2006, 04:36 PM
also the carfax should tell you if it is a rubicon.
Jeepster61611
10-27-2006, 10:22 PM
Ersatz
ChadYJ92
10-31-2006, 11:50 PM
Originally posted by olivesta500:
quoted from the listing, "in 2WD it runs on 3:55, and in 4WD it is 4:56"
its amazing what people try to sell on ebay ive never seen a jeep like that, i thought all rubicons had 4.10 gears? Yeah, that guy is full of poo. Dual speed axles in a Rubicon? Puh-lease. He also states that the T-Case has a low range of 4.11. So they made a special case for this one Jeep? Yeah right.
He also says that it has a rock climber package on it, but then fails to explain what that means. Maybe he's referring to the lockers? :confused:
bas157
11-01-2006, 07:36 AM
Gotta be a scammer. It was relisted, as a private auction and it says this now.
Please e-mail me at hukiol123@yahoo.com not through ask seller a question as you will be infected !I will sell the car for the starting bid price if you wish to buy !
How do you get infected by emailing someone?
There is one bid for $3000, why has the auction not ended then if you would sell it for the starting bid price?
Obvious scam IMO
04 Rubicon
11-01-2006, 12:13 PM
A huge clue the guy is a little iffy is his bid history. These guys buy lots of items around $10.00 to build up their feedback, then they list a $15k to $20k item for well under what it should get. Something ain't right.
trainbrainmike
11-03-2006, 06:38 AM
Back in my roddin' days we called this "badge engineering". Usually seen today with "ricers" who buy base model cars and then try to make them look like the upscale model with decals and badges.
This is a poor attempt at this same thing. I would be willing to bet it is just a decal job
Survey Sez: F A K E !