Welcome to Quadratec Jeep Forum Mark forums read | View Forum Leaders
Quadratec Jeep Forum
Advert

Intermittent miss when cold outside

Rookie

Radioman 66 is on a distinguished road

09-12-2006, 12:04 AM

I'm new to jeeps so bare with me.
When the temp. is near freezing my YJ 4 cyl starts fine and runs OK for about 15 minutes. After that It backfires through the intake and will not run under load unless I downshift and really bring the RPMs up. It idles and revs fine until I let the clutch out. After about 5 minutes and a few good back fires it clears.
No codes coming from the eng. light.
It also smells of gas all the time. Any suggestions on were to start?

Rookie

09-12-2006, 12:35 AM

it's fuel injected.

manlier grisly bear

DeadHopeless is on a distinguished road

09-12-2006, 12:55 AM

Could be many things- are you throwing any codes? Sounds like a possible throttle positioning sensor or oxygen sensor- at least that's where I'd start... sounds like something is causing it to run rich.
94 YJ: 4.0, AX15, NP231 (4:1 Terralow), SOA 2.5" RE Exteme Duty Leafs, SYE, ARB'd Dana 60, ARB'd Dana 44, 4.88 Gears, Warn Hubs, FULL hi-steer, Wheelbase stretched to 104", 38" Toyo MT's, Genright Crawler Tank, Corners & Rocker Guards. Just Empty Every Pocket.

Rookie

09-12-2006, 01:37 PM

I am not getting any codes using the check eng. light way. I don't have a reader.
It's backfiring through the air cleaner not the exhaust. This makes me think it is a timing issue.

manlier grisly bear

DeadHopeless is on a distinguished road

09-12-2006, 02:37 PM